Mild Jambalaya

I’ve tried jambalaya before that was pretty spicy, maybe a little too spicy so I decided to tweak a traditional recipe to my mild palate.

Ingredients

6 Servings

  • 1 pound Kielbasa Sausage
  • 1/2 pound Turkey Breast
  • 1/4 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 tablespoon Paprika
  • 2 teaspoons Ground Cayenne Pepper
  • 2 teaspoons Oregano
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1/4 Extra Large Green Pepper
  • 1/3 Yellow Onion
  • 1 Medium Tomato
  • 1- 8oz. can of Tomato Sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of Hot Sauce (I used Zakk Wylde’s Sonic Brew Beserker)
  • 3 Garlic Cloves
  • 2 cups Brown Rice
  • 2 cups Water

Cut up meat and veggies before starting. I cut the turkey breast into 1 1/2″ pieces and the sausage in to 1/2″ slices.

Personally, I don’t like to have visible pieces of peppers or onions in my food so I was going to mince all of my veggies and garlic. However, for time’s sake, I put it all into my food processor for about 20 seconds.

In a large skillet with a lid heat up the vegetable oil on medium heat, add in meat. While that is cooking put in the spices: cayenne pepper, paprika, oregano, salt and pepper. Give it a good stir. Once meat is nearly cooked add in the veggie mix.

Add in hot sauce and give another good stir.

Up the burner to High heat. Stir in rice, water and tomato sauce.

Allow to come to a boil. top off with a Bay leaf and place the lid on the skillet. Reduce back to medium heat.

Allow to cook for 5-10 minutes or until rice is tender. Remove Bay leaf and serve.

So good!

Leave a Reply

